Baking

Best Banana Bread

IMG_2451

I am not a baker. When it comes to food, I am not patient or precise, so generally I’m good at cooking but terrible at baking. I have known this for many years. It subsequently came as a HUGE surprise when this banana bread came out -and I never say this about food I have made- faultless. Honestly, it is absolutely perfect to the point that I wish I had actually weighed the bananas I used so I can make sure it turns out like this again!

It’s an easy recipe but honesty, I am super proud.

Ingredients | Around an hour | Makes 1 loaf

  •  200g plain flour
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 50g softened butter
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • About 3 over-ripe bananas

Method

  • Heat the oven to 160 (fan assisted), and butter a 400g loaf tin.
  • Put the peeled bananas in a bowl and mash well with a fork.
  • In a big bowl, cream together the butter and sugar using the back of a wooden spoon. Keep going until it’s pale and fluffy, then add the egg and beat well.
  • Add in the flour, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder and vanilla, and mix well until smooth.
  • Pour the mixture into the tin, even it out with a spoon if necessary, then put it in the centre of the oven.
  • Try to avoid opening the oven unless you think it’s done. This took 50 minutes, but it may need a bit more or less time. To check, stick a skewer in the middle, and if it comes out clean, it’s done.
  • Leave for 5-10 minutes to cool, then turn out onto a rack to finish cooling properly.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

